Located conveniently on Route 460 in Giles County, Pembroke is known as the Gateway to the Cascades. It is here that visitors can hike to majestic 66 ft. waterfall, venture onto the New River, and enjoy small town flair with shopping, dining, and festivals.
As far as can be ascertained the first white settler to make a permanent home
close to what is now Pembroke was Philip Lybrook who came with his
family from Pennsylvania sometime between 1748-55. His family was
originally from Holland and the name was Leibroch. This family settled at
a point along New River at about the place where Sinking Creek flows into New
River. The story goes that in 1845 the town was named by John Lyebrook, a
descendant of Philip. John was then postmaster and he had been reading a
book and ran across the name Pembroke. Some think that it may have been a
copy of Shakespeares’ Sonnets which was dedicated in part to the Earl of
Pembroke. He thought it was a pretty name, so he printed PEMBROKE on a
board and hung it onto the post office building. Some folks who did not
know today call it “pem-brook”, but it is plainly “pem-broke”. The town
was incorporated in 1948. The first mayor was Capt. T. P. Smith. The
new town hall was finished in 1968. The town now has a very fine
volunteer fire department.
sits on the New River with the backdrop of Castle Rock. Castle Rock has
an 18-hole golf course, swimming pool, clubhouse, tennis courts, outside shelter,
fifteen tables, two charcoal grills, and special rates for students and
seniors. Be sure not to miss the Pembroke Heritage Festival and reach
out to the three outfitters and guides, Tangent Outfitters, New RiverOutdoor Company, andNew River’s Edge for some fun on the New River.
Continue planning your visit by exploring the town website at: www.pembrokeva.org