Living Green

Living Green at the Virginia Living Museum Living Green at the Virginia Living Museum - paper walls Living Green at the Virginia Living Museum - passive solar Living Green at the Virginia Living Museum - solar panels Living Green at the Virginia Living Museum - insulation choices Living Green at the Virginia Living Museum - deck choices Living Green at the Virginia Living Museum - composting Living Green at the Virginia Living Museum - composting Living Green at the Virginia Living Museum - solar fountain
Living Green at the Virginia Living Museum
Venue
Virginia Living Museum
Address
524 J. Clyde Morris Boulevard
Newport News, VA 23601
Region Hampton Roads
Locality Newport News City
Date(s)/Time:
Thursday, January 02, 2014 - Wednesday, December 31, 2014 (9:00 AM-5:00 PM)
Monday, October 27, 2014 - Saturday, November 01, 2014 (9:00 AM-5:00 PM)
Sunday, November 02, 2014 (12:00 PM-5:00 PM)
Monday, November 03, 2014 - Saturday, November 08, 2014 (9:00 AM-5:00 PM)
Sunday, November 09, 2014 (12:00 PM-5:00 PM)
Monday, November 10, 2014 - Saturday, November 15, 2014 (9:00 AM-5:00 PM)
Sunday, November 16, 2014 (12:00 PM-5:00 PM)
Monday, November 17, 2014 - Saturday, November 22, 2014 (9:00 AM-5:00 PM)
Sunday, November 23, 2014 (12:00 PM-5:00 PM)
Monday, November 24, 2014 - Wednesday, November 26, 2014 (9:00 AM-5:00 PM)
Friday, November 28, 2014 - Saturday, November 29, 2014 (9:00 AM-5:00 PM)
Sunday, November 30, 2014 (12:00 PM-5:00 PM)
Monday, December 01, 2014 - Saturday, December 20, 2014 (9:00 AM-5:00 PM)
Sunday, December 07, 2014 (12:00 PM-5:00 PM)
Sunday, December 14, 2014 (12:00 PM-5:00 PM)
Sunday, December 21, 2014 (12:00 PM-5:00 PM)
Monday, December 22, 2014 - Tuesday, December 23, 2014 (9:00 AM-5:00 PM)
Friday, December 26, 2014 - Wednesday, December 31, 2014 (9:00 AM-5:00 PM)
Sunday, December 28, 2014 (12:00 PM-5:00 PM)
Phone: (757) 595-1900
Program Registration: (757) 595-9135
Fax: (757) 599-4897
Email webmaster@thevlm.org
Website www.thevlm.org

Living Green exhibit and Conservation Garden demonstrate up close and hands-on how to use less energy, produce less waste, and be kinder to Mother Earth. Opened in 2009, the exhibit was the first of its kind in Virginia and one of the first anywhere in the U.S. In this permanent exhibit, see all the latest techniques and products to build and maintain an earth-friendly home, presented in a way that makes them visible and understandable to the general public. See a living roof, exterior siding made of recycled paper, walls made of Styrofoam and insulation made from blue jeans. See earth-friendly gardening techniques: the use of native plants, mulching and composting to reduce the use of synthetic fertilizers and pesticides. Learn landscaping methods that reduce polluting storm water runoff, while proving food, water and shelter for wildlife.


Book now
Admission Fee: $17adult/$13child

Last Updated: 1/14/2014 1:17 PM
  • Get the Virginia Travel Guide

    2014 Virginia Travel Guide

    Order your Free Virginia Travel Guide.

     Order now button  

  • Travel Updates

    What's going on around Virginia? Subscribe to the Virginia eNews.

    Subscribe