The Merry Wives of Windsor by William Shakespeare

Actors onstage at the American Shakespeare Center's Blackfriars Playhouse in Staunton, VA.
The American Shakespeare Center's Blackfriars Playhouse in Staunton, VA.
Venue
American Shakespeare Center's Blackfriars Playhouse
Address
10 S. Market St.
Staunton, VA 24401
Region Shenandoah Valley
Locality Staunton City
Date(s)/Time:
Thursday, April 17, 2014 (10:30 AM-1:00 PM)
Friday, April 18, 2014 (7:30 PM-10:00 PM)
Sunday, April 20, 2014 (2:00 PM-4:30 PM)
Thursday, April 24, 2014 (7:30 PM-10:00 PM)
Saturday, April 26, 2014 (7:30 PM-10:00 PM)
Wednesday, April 30, 2014 (7:30 PM-10:00 PM)
Saturday, May 03, 2014 (2:00 PM-4:30 PM)
Friday, May 09, 2014 (7:30 PM-10:00 PM)
Sunday, May 11, 2014 (2:00 PM-4:30 PM)
Thursday, May 15, 2014 (7:30 PM-10:00 PM)
Saturday, May 17, 2014 (7:30 PM-10:00 PM)
Wednesday, May 21, 2014 (7:30 PM-10:00 PM)
Thursday, May 22, 2014 (10:30 AM-1:00 PM)
Saturday, May 24, 2014 (2:00 PM-4:30 PM)
Friday, May 30, 2014 (7:30 PM-10:00 PM)
Sunday, June 01, 2014 (2:00 PM-4:30 PM)
Thursday, June 05, 2014 (7:30 PM-10:00 PM)
Saturday, June 07, 2014 (7:30 PM-10:00 PM)
Wednesday, June 11, 2014 (7:30 PM-10:00 PM)
Friday, June 13, 2014 (7:30 PM-10:00 PM)
Sunday, June 15, 2014 (2:00 PM-4:30 PM)
Box Office: (540) 851-1733
Fax: (540) 885-4886
Email tickets@americanshakespearecenter.com
Website www.americanshakespearecenter.com

Urban legend claims that Queen Elizabeth asked Shakespeare to write a play featuring "the fat knight in love." In the effervescent The Merry Wives of Windsor, Falstaff may not be truly in love, but he is certainly in lust. The objects of his desire, two clever Windsor wives, team up to outsmart and outmaneuver one of Shakespeare's wittiest and most beloved bad boys. Shakespeare blends romance, farce, and festival in his liveliest and most affectionate portrait of domestic life in Elizabeth's England. Audiences now, as then, cannot resist this comic confection.



Admission Fee: $12-$45

Last Updated: 6/5/2013 4:21 PM
  • Enter to Win

    Spring 2014 spring sweeps 
  • Get the Virginia Travel Guide

    2014 Virginia Travel Guide

    Order your Free Virginia Travel Guide.

     Order now button  

  • Travel Updates

    What's going on around Virginia? Subscribe to the Virginia eNews.

    Subscribe