The Daniel Harrison House, also known as "Fort Harrison", was built in 1749 by Daniel Harrison, the first settler in Dayton. Daniel was the brother of Thomas Harrison, founder of Harrisonburg. The two-story stone house is located on Cook's Creek just north of downtown Dayton. Since 1977 it has been owned and maintained by a private non-profit organization, Fort Harrison, Incorporated. A replica of the summer kitchen and slave quarters has been reconstructed behind it. The house with generous donations of furniture and artifacts, some from the Harrison family, transform this house into a tangible reminder of the pioneer spirit and rich heritage of the Shenandoah Valley. The house is on the National Historic Register. Guided tours are available on Saturday and Sunday afternoon's from 1:00 p.m. through 4:00 p.m. from May through October.
Last Updated: 4/13/2012 3:21 PM