Jennings House, Confederate Hospital 1862 and 1864 Valley Campaigns

No Image Available
Address
173 West Spottswood Ave.
Elkton, VA 22827
Region Shenandoah Valley
Locality Rockingham
Area Visitor Information: (540) 432-8935
Website www.hmdb.org/marker.asp

Inscription reads: "This eight-room brick dwelling was built in 1840 for Dr. Simeon B. Jennings, a former resident of Port Republic. At the time of the Civil War, it was one of only half a dozen houses located in the Conrad's Store (present-day Elkton) community." On the evening of April 19, 1862, Confederate Gen. Thomas J. "Stonewall" Jackson's 6,000-man army marched by here and into a bivouac that stretched to Swift Run. After Jackson's men departed on April 30, Gen. Richard S. Ewell's division crossed through Swift Run Gap east of here and occupied the still-burning campsites for the next two weeks. According to Cpl. Randolph H. McKim, Co. H, 1st Maryland Infantry (C.S.A.), the monotony of camp life was "varied for some of us by visits to Doctor Jennings', whose charming daughters [Ann, Elizabeth, Virginia, Marietta, Mary, and Malinda] greatly attracted us. ... There we had music and song and bright and merry converse, which speedily banished the memory of the hardships of the past two months." After the Battles of Cross Keys and Port Republic (June 8-9, 1862), Jennings and his wife Barbara ministered to dozens of wounded Confederate soldiers in their house. The more severely wounded soldiers are said to have been placed beneath this giant burr oak, where they were treated before being transferred In October 1864, during Union Gen. Philip H. Sheridan's burning of the Shenandoah Valley, Jennings' nearby flour mill was destroyed by fire.




Last Updated: 7/20/2011 2:42 PM
  • Enter to Win

    Spring 2014 spring sweeps 
  • Get the Virginia Travel Guide

    2014 Virginia Travel Guide

    Order your Free Virginia Travel Guide.

     Order now button  

  • Travel Updates

    What's going on around Virginia? Subscribe to the Virginia eNews.

    Subscribe