The Bolling Haxall House, an Italianate mansion in the heart of downtown Richmond, was built in 1858 for prosperous business leader Bolling Walker Haxall. The House was purchased in 1900 by The Woman's Club, founded in 1894. In 1915, the Club added an elegant ballroom to host weekly speakers of national and international renown. Following a complete renovation in the late 1980s, the Bolling Haxall House boasts original features and Victorian decor typical of the turn of the 19th century while the ballroom reflects the classical motifs of the later Beaux Arts style. A Virginia Historic Landmark, The Bolling Haxall House is also listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Tours are available by appointment only.
Last Updated: 2/21/2012 4:13 PM