Swannanoa Palace Open House

Swannanoa Palace
Venue
Swannanoa Palace
Address
497 Swannanoa Lane
Afton, VA 22920
Region Central Virginia
Locality Nelson
Date(s)/Time:
Saturday, June 06, 2015 - Sunday, June 07, 2015 (11:30 AM-5:30 PM)
Saturday, June 27, 2015 - Sunday, June 28, 2015 (11:30 AM-5:30 PM)
Saturday, July 04, 2015 - Sunday, July 05, 2015 (11:30 AM-5:30 PM)
Saturday, July 18, 2015 - Sunday, July 19, 2015 (11:30 AM-5:30 PM)
Saturday, August 08, 2015 - Sunday, August 09, 2015 (11:30 AM-5:30 PM)
Saturday, August 22, 2015 - Sunday, August 23, 2015 (11:30 AM-5:30 PM)
Saturday, September 05, 2015 - Sunday, September 06, 2015 (11:30 AM-5:30 PM)
Saturday, September 19, 2015 - Sunday, September 20, 2015 (11:30 AM-5:30 PM)
Saturday, September 26, 2015 - Sunday, September 27, 2015 (11:30 AM-5:30 PM)
Saturday, October 03, 2015 - Sunday, October 04, 2015 (11:30 AM-5:30 PM)
Saturday, October 10, 2015 - Sunday, October 11, 2015 (11:30 AM-5:30 PM)
Saturday, October 17, 2015 - Sunday, October 18, 2015 (11:30 AM-5:30 PM)
Saturday, October 24, 2015 - Sunday, October 25, 2015 (11:30 AM-5:30 PM)
Saturday, November 07, 2015 - Sunday, November 08, 2015 (11:30 AM-5:30 PM)
Swannanoa Palace: (540) 942-5201

Major James Dooley, an executive with the Chesapeake and Ohio Railroad Company, completed construction of the $2 million Swannanoa in 1912. Dooley, who owned the Maymont estate is Richmond, built this 52-room marble palace as a token of love for his wife, Sally May. More than 300 artisans were hired to create the palace as a replica of the Villa de Medici in Rome. They used the highest quality materials available. Visitors today can still see the depth of James and Sally May's relationship is places like the 4,000 piece Tiffany stained-glass window and a domed ceiling bearing the likeness of Mrs. Dooley. The name Swannanoa comes from Mrs. Dooley's fondness for swans, which she liked because they choose their mates for a lifetime. For information on group tours or events call 540-942-5201.

 




Last Updated: 5/22/2015 2:21 PM
  • Virginia Music

    Virginia is for Music Lovers
  • Enter to Win

    Williamsburg Sweeps promo
  • Get the Virginia Travel Guide

    2015 Travel Guide promo

    Order your Free Virginia Travel Guide.

     Order now button 

  • Travel Updates

    What's going on around Virginia? Subscribe to the Virginia eNews.

    Subscribe