Built circa 1800 and the oldest house on Chincoteague Island...it is a rare example of early long plank construction, once common in the early days of our country. Originally built to have a wooden chimney...also a common feature of early homes...this is one of only two houses to survive in Virginia that were so built. The replica of the wooden chimney was added in 2017. A brick chimney hides underneath it so there is a legal working fireplace.
The house was listed on The Virginia Landmarks Register and The National Register of Historic Places in 2011…a first for Chincoteague Island. Owners Paul Brzozowski and Louisa Flaningam are grateful for mentoring by Carl Lounsbury of Colonial Williamsburg Foundation
It's a typical dwelling of its time but also tells the story of a family. Timothy Hill, a Yankee sailor, ship wrecked off Assateague, made his way to Chincoteague and in 1822 married local girl Rebecca Russell. Their descendants still call Chincoteague home.
And, there is a mystery....who carved the sailing ships into the exterior logs sometime before the late 1800’s?
So...take a step back in time and catch a glimpse of how our early ancestors lived. Open in the summer season on Fridays from 1-3 PM. A docent is on hand to tell the story. Off season tours may be arranged by appointment.
- Family Friendly
- LGBTQ+ Friendly
- No fee but donations gratefully accepted.
Last Updated: 07/10/2017
5047 Demarco Ln.
Chincoteague Island, VA 233360.4 MI
5295 Hibiscus Drive
Chincoteague Island, VA 233360.56 MI
5454 Deep Hole Road
Chincoteague, VA 233360.79 MI
4391 Main St.
Chincoteague Island, VA 233360.87 MI
6113 Taylor Street
Chincoteague Island, VA 233360.94 MI