St. John’s Episcopal Church in the historic village of Chuckatuck (in the City of Suffolk Virginia) has served its community for almost 375 years. The church is surrounded by a blend of farm land, residential housing, tranquil waterways, and yet is close to the amenities and cultural attractions of Hampton Roads including Jamestown, Norfolk, and Virginia Beach.
St. John’s roots go back to the earliest English settlements along the Nansemond River, dating back to 1642. The present church, the third on this site, was constructed in 1755. Its old walls are solid brick, approximately two feet thick. The aisle is paved with blocks of limestone from England. The chancel, with its elaborate wainscoting and carvings, was installed in the 1880’s. The colored glass windows date from the same period as well.
The parish house was built in 1970 with the addition completed in 1990. It has two classrooms, a nursery, a children’s chapel, two offices, a kitchen, and the main hall that will seat over 100 people.
St. John’s is a member of the Diocese of Southern Virginia in the Episcopal Church in the United States. We are also members of the worldwide Anglican Communion.
- Family Friendly
- Free and open to the public.
Last Updated: 12/09/2019