Begin your morning at the Hampton History Museum. Experience four centuries of national history and view how Hampton evolved as “America’s Gateway” from Native American days to the Space Age. Take a spin on the 1920 Hampton Carousel in Carousel Park on the Hampton waterfront. Enjoy lunch at Fort Monroe before you begin the home tour, followed by a tour of the Casemate Museum and the Chapel of the Centurion.
Building 93; 75 Ingalls Road
Constructed in 1884, building 93 served as the Fort Monroe Post Commander’s residence for much
of the 20th century. The home features 6 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms and almost 4,000 square feet of
living space. With its wide semi-circular drive and white-columned two-story porches, the structure
is an integral feature of the officers' housing lining Ingalls Road.
Building 118; 29 Fenwick Road
Completed in 1907/1908, building 118 originally served as Coast Artillery Officer housing and is situated
prominently on General’s Row, across from Continental Park. The home features 6 bedrooms, 4.5 bathrooms
and over 5,000 square feet of living space. It boasts a stunning view of the Chesapeake Bay, Norfolk,
and Virginia Beach.
Building 119; 33 Fenwick Road House And Garden
Completed 1907/1908, building 119 originally served as the Coast Artillery Commanding General’s residence and is situated prominently on General’s Row, across from the bandstand at Continental Park. The home features 9 bedrooms,
5.5 bathrooms and over 8,500 square feet of living space. Prior to Fort Monroe’s decommissioning, building 119 was home to the Commanding General of Training and Doctrine Command (TRADOC). One of the last TRADOC commanders to reside in the home was General Martin Dempsey, who currently serves as the Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff.
Building 142; 51 Fenwick Road
Certified for occupancy in January 1910, building 142 originally served as Coast Artillery officer housing and is considered one of the homes along General’s Row. The home features 4 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms and over 4,500 square feet of living space.
Building 60 – 67 Fenwick Road
Completed around 1890, building 60 was originally designed as the Lighthouse Keeper’s Quarters and is situated beside the Old Point Comfort Lighthouse. This building is the second Keeper’s quarters to stand on this site. When the lighthouse
was automated in 1973, it was transferred to the army and became officer housing. Prior to 1973, the building housed Coast Guard personnel and the two floors were separate quarters with no interior staircase. The light keeper occupied the first floor and his assistant lived on the second.
Last Updated: 06/12/2015